How to Delete Your Instagram Account Permanently (2022-2023) Update

How to Delete Your Instagram Account Permanently (2022-2023) Update
How to Delete Your Instagram Account Permanently (2022-2023) Update

Instagram, like its parent corporation Facebook, is no stranger to the odd privacy scandal.

From Cambridge Analytica to leaking user passwords and automatically tracking your location by default, Instagram is a serious threat to your privacy. It also shares your in-app activity. Like likes, comments, your interaction with stories etc. with other users. And recently, it's informing other users when you're active, and even the last time you were active.

Plus, with new reports increasingly discussing the negative effects of social media on mental health, it's no surprise that a large group of people are ready to log off Instagram for good.

If you want to share a little less online, you can also consider deleting or deactivating your social media accounts. If you're ready, this article will show you how to permanently delete your Instagram account.

Deactivation vs. Deletion: What you need to know

You can deactivate and permanently delete your Instagram account as per your preference.

☆Deactivating your account is temporary, but

☆During the inactivity of your account, your

☆Profile, followers, photos, likes and comments

☆It will also be hidden from other users. All of them

☆To restore information and generally again

☆To start using Instagram, that's it

Log in to your account again.

Deleting your Instagram account cannot be undone - a deleted account cannot be restored. When you delete your Instagram account, all your data including photos, followers, likes, etc. will be deleted. In the future, if you choose to sign up to Instagram again, you will not be able to use the same username again, nor any other.

Deactivating an Instagram account

You cannot deactivate Instagram through the app, it must be done in a web browser on the Instagram website. If you want to take a break from Instagram, you can deactivate your account by taking these steps:

●On the Instagram website, log in to your account and click the person icon to go to your profile page.

●Select 'Edit profile', scroll to the bottom of the page, and click 'Temporarily disable my account'.

●You will be asked 'Why are you deactivating your account?', select a reason from the drop-down menu.

●Re-enter your password and 'Temporarily

Select 'Deactivate account'.

Your account has now been deactivated and will be hidden from other users until you log in again. Note: As per Instagram's usage policy, you can only deactivate your Instagram account once a week.

Downloading your Instagram data

Once you delete your Instagram account, all your data is gone. It cannot be retrieved.

Therefore, you can download your Instagram data before deleting your account, so that you still have all the photos, videos, etc. that you have posted over time. To download a copy of your Instagram data:

●Go to your Instagram profile and select 'Settings' (gear icon).

●Click on the 'Privacy and Security' tab and click on 'Request Download'.

●Enter the email address where you'd like to receive a link to your Instagram data, followed by your password.

●Within 48 hours you should receive an email with a link to your data, titled 'Your Instagram Data'. Click on 'Download Data'.

Step by Step Guide: How to Delete Your Instagram Account

As with your deactivation, an Instagram account can be deleted only through a web browser. To permanently delete an Instagram account, follow these simple steps:

1)Log in to your account on the Instagram website

Go to Instagram .2 page of 'Delete Your Account'. Select your reason for leaving from the drop-down menu.

3. Enter your password and click on 'Permanently Delete My Account'.

4. Your Instagram account is now deleted.

Other ways to keep your data private

Many of us use a cloud storage service to back up our important data and/or store files. If you use one of these storage services, choose one that automatically encrypts your files. However, because the cloud provider holds your encryption key, they can access your data and share it with government authorities upon their request.

You can solve this problem by manually encrypting your files before you upload them to the cloud. Therefore, only you will have the key to your data. to your cloud provider

Access are will not be available until you also upload the encryption keys to the cloud

There are many free encryption programs out there that are easy to use, even if you have no experience encrypting your data manually.

Choose encryption software that is compatible with your computer and mobile operating systems and your cloud storage provider. Your encryption program should also have end-to-end encryption, and should never store your password.

Conclusion and further reading

These days, it's important to do whatever you can to stay safe on social media and avoid becoming a victim of cybercriminals.

If you're interested in learning more ways you can protect your privacy online, check out our detailed guide.

Or, if you also want to delete your profile on Facebook, take a look at our step-by-step instructions.


 

Post a Comment

0 Comments